Home

Sun., 15 Oct.: Trinity 18
Masses at 9 AM & 11 AM; EP at 5 PM


Tues., 17 Oct.: St. Ignatius of Antioch: Mass at 7 PM
Ignatius was born probably in Syria in
about the year 35 and was either the second
or third Bishop of Antioch, the third largest
city in the Roman Empire. Nothing is
known of his life except his final journey
under armed guard to Rome, where he was
martyred around the year 107. In the course
of his journey, he met St Polycarp in
Smyrna, and wrote a number of letters to
various congregations which are among the
greatest treasures of the early Church. In
the face of persecution he appealed to his
fellow Christians to maintain unity with
their bishop at all costs. His letters reveal
his passionate commitment to Christ, and
how he longed ‘to imitate the passion of my God’.


Wed., 18 Oct.: St. Luke: Mass at 10 AM
Luke is the author of the Gospel bearing his
name, and also of the Book of the Acts of
the Apostles. From Acts we learn that he
was a gentile convert to Christianity, a doctor,
who accompanied St Paul on his second
and third missionary journeys, and
who stayed in Rome with him while he was
in captivity. Eastern Christians credit St
Luke with having produced the first ikon.
He is thought to have died at the age of
eighty-four in Greece.


Sun., 22 Oct.: Trinity 19
Masses at 9 AM & 11 AM; EP at 5 PM


Mon., 23 Oct.: St. James of Jerusalem: Mass at 11 AM
James, ‘the Lord’s brother’, was a leader of
the Church in Jerusalem from a very early
date, and is regarded as its first bishop.
Though not one of the Twelve, St Paul includes
James among those to whom the
risen Lord appeared before the Ascension,
and records that James received him cordially
when he visited Jerusalem after his
conversion. James was regarded as the
leader of the Jewish community when the
Church expanded to embrace the Gentiles,
and was successful in bringing many of his
fellow Jews to faith in Christ. He presided
at the Council of Jerusalem. He is thought
to have been stoned to death around the
year 62.


Tues., 24 Oct.: Feria: Mass at 7 PM

Wed., 25 Oct.: Feria: Mass at 10 AM

Sat., 28 Oct.: Ss. Simon & Jude: Mass at 11 AM
Simon and Jude were named among the
twelve apostles in the gospels of Matthew,
Mark and Luke. Simon is called ‘the
Zealot’, probably because he belonged to a
nationalist resistance movement opposing
Roman rule. Luke describes Jude as the son
of James, while the Letter of Jude has him
as the brother of James, neither of which
negates the other. It seems he is the same
person as Thaddaeus, which may have
been a last name. The two apostles are
joined together on 28 October because a
church which had recently acquired their
relics was dedicated in Rome on this day in
the seventh century.


Sun., 29 Oct.: Trinity 20
Masses at 9 AM & 11 AM; EP at 5 PM


Tues., 31 Oct.: Feria: Mass at 7 PM

Home

Wed., 1 Nov.: ALL SAINTS DAY
Mass at 10 AM

Thurs., 2 Nov.: All Souls Day
Requiem Masses at 10 AM and 7 PM

Sun., 5 Nov..: Trinity 21
Masses at 9 AM & 11 AM; EP at 5 PM


Tues., 7 Nov.: St. Willibrord: Mass at 7 PM

Wed., 8 Nov..: Feria: Mass at 10 AM

Sun., 12 Nov..: Trinity 22
Masses at 9 AM & 11 AM; EP at 5 PM


Tues., 14 Nov.: Feria: Mass at 7 PM

Wed., 15 Nov..: Feria: Mass at 10 AM

Thurs., 16 Nov.: St. Margaret: Mass at 7 PM

Sun., 19 Nov..: Trinity 23
Masses at 9 AM & 11 AM; EP at 5 PM


Tues., 21 Nov.: St. Columban: Mass at 7 PM

Wed., 22 Nov..: St. Cecilia: Mass at 10 AM

Sun., 26 Nov..: CHRIST THE KING
Masses at 9 AM & 11 AM; EP at 5 PM

Tues., 28 Nov.: Feria: Mass at 7 PM

Wed., 29 Nov..: Feria: Mass at 10 AM

Thurs., 30 Nov.: ST. ANDREW: Mass at 7 PM

Home